Lamy 2000: Did you know?

20 04 2010

Lamy 2000 header image

If you’ve been following Brassing for long, you’re probably aware that I think pretty highly of the Lamy 2000, and have owned several of them.  Lately, though, I’ve learned a few things about the Lamy 2000 that I thought were/are pretty interesting (and potentially very helpful to some of you).

1. OEM nib sizes: EF/F/M/OM/B/OB/BB/OBB – If you’re buying in the States, you’re most likely to find EF/F/M/B from most retailers. But…if you want an oblique or a double-broad, they’re easily sourced through Lamy USA. They offer free nib swaps (you pay the postage) on new pens.

2. Modern Lamy 2000 nibs tend toward the broader side of the stated width. That is, if you purchase an XF, don’t be terribly surprised if it writes more like a skinny-ish F. If you purchase a M, expect it to lay down a line boardering on broad. (This isn’t exactly a brand new revelation, but it’s worth mentioning just the same.)

3. Believe it or not, there was a day when Lamy nibs ran true to size (and potentially even a hair smaller than stated width). I have three Lamy nibs (two of which are vintage) that I alternate in my 2000, and while they’re all a little odd in their own right (one is stainless steel, one is yellow 14K gold, and one is missing the tipping material), they all actually write pretty well. The best part, though? The yellow gold nib is an XF, and it’s a TRUE XF (maybe even finer than that). The stainless nib is a B, and it’s got a naturally stubby cut to it – and it writes a fairly normal-sized broad line.

4. You CAN find nibs for these pens if you want something interesting or need a replacement. Nibs from the Lamy 27-30, 27-31, and 27-32 (all of which which are typically 14K nibs), and steel nibs from the 80 and 99 will all fit the 2000. These pens can sometimes be a bit of a bear to find, but if you’re watching eBay, they do come up from time to time. The best part? These pens featured a full(er) lineup of nib sizes than today’s 2000. Lamy produced nibs in the following sizes: EF, F, FK, M, B, BB, BBB, OF, OM, OB, and OBB. If you’re looking for a monster-sized nib for your 2000, the only place you’ll find a BBB is here, as far as I know.

Note: When looking for the Lamy 27, the models with nibs that will fit the 2000 are the ones with squared-off ends, not the rounded/torpedo-shaped ends.

So, there you have it. A few things that are hopefully helpful for those of you with questions about Lamy 2000 nibs, and how to make yours write the way you want it to! Special thanks to my good friend Gary out in New Jersey for sharing some of this great information with me (and for donating that 14K XF nib when I was in need)! Gary has a very nice collection of Lamy 27s (there are a zillion different models, and I think he has one of almost every one of ‘em), and he’s done a tremendous amount of research into the history of these great pens.

*BTW – If you have a Lamy 2000 that’s broken, and you don’t know what to do with it, drop me a line. I might be able to help you out. I’m always on the hunt for parts pens, and perhaps we can work something out that’ll make both of us happy! You can email me here.

Actions

Information

19 responses

20 04 2010
Speedmaster

Hey, good to see you posting!! ;-)

20 04 2010
rroossinck

Thanks Chris. Sometimes I wish there were more hours in the day so I could keep better tabs on Brassing!

20 04 2010
Julie (Okami)

Great post, I just acquired my first Lamy 2000 in a swap with a friend in the UK. It has an OM nib and I really like it, can’t believe that I waited so long to try it.

20 04 2010
rroossinck

Great move, Julie! An oblique medium has got to be a fun one! I’ve used a medium before and it was absolutely luscious – as per the norm, it was at least a half-size fat, but still a very good nib. The oblique is a pretty neat twist, too! Any stubby qualities to the line? The medium I used was a stock nib but it struck me as a very nice “almost-stub” – lots of line variation, but still soft on the edges.

20 04 2010
Mr. Guilt

I love my L2K. My only gripe–and it’s a minor one–is that as it has aged, I don’t seem to be able to post the cap anymore. It doesn’t grip, and seems to slide backwards (any thoughts?).

20 04 2010
rroossinck

Hmmm…I think I know what you’re getting at. The Makrolon definitely seems to age a little bit. Gets a little shiny in the hand and smooth to the touch, right? One thing you might consider doing is roughing up the surface of the barrel a little with some fine steel wool or something. In that respect, Makrolon is a little bit like ebonite, in that it can definitely improve both the appearance as well as the gripping power if it has something rougher to hold on to.

(I’d be real gentle with it if you’re going to rough it up; go slow. You can always remove material but it’s awful tough to put it back. I’d also go in a vertical motion to maintain the grain of the material. And, as always, caveat emptor. Let me know how it works out for you!)

21 04 2010
Karl Barndt

I’ve used 200 grit sandpaper to restore the woodgrained finish on both the stainless section and the Makrolon.

You need to be very careful to make single strokes in one direction, along the original grain. Do not rub back and forth. It also doesn’t take too much pressure.

Make short strokes and rub away the dust with your finger to check your progress. Do not breath the dust. Makrolon isn’t the nicest stuff in the world to ingest and breathing any dust isn’t good for your lungs.

21 04 2010
placematters

Thanks for the post — still as good as ever! I have been a fan of the 2K since getting into pens, but from a distance. I got my first one a month ago. I’m not sure why I waited this long, but I love it just as much as I thought I would.

21 04 2010
rroossinck

Thanks for the complimentary words! I really appreciate it. Great to hear, by the way, that you picked up a 2000! What nib size?

21 04 2010
Karl Barndt

Informative post!

A few comments about the Lamy models that have nibs compatible with the 2000. The 27 with the squared off ends (30, 31, 32) have 14K nibs, as you mentioned. Also with 14K gold nibs are the 99 with squared off ends (36, 37, 38) and the Lamy Special (16, 17, 18). There are also some Lamy Ratio 44 FPs with 14K nibs.

The Lamy Special is essentially a slightly smaller, cartridge fill version of the Lamy 27.

And steel nibs from ANY Lamy hooded nib pen will work in the 2000. This would include the Ratio, Artus, 25P, and 26P pens.

21 04 2010
rroossinck

That’s some great information, Karl, and it definitely opens up for some greater possibilities as far as nib sizes are concerned, that’s for sure!

Folks, if you’re looking for nibs like these, Karl is probably your best bet in the States. He’s a good friend of mine, and the guy who sold me my steel broad stubby nib that I’m using in my own 2000 right now. If you’re looking for something in specific, it’d be a good idea to send him a note and inquire as to what he’s got available. He’ll take very good care of you, for sure. :-)

21 04 2010
Karl Barndt

Thanks for the mention, Ryan!

Best bet to reach me is to use the comment form at the bottom of my Lamy sale page. Click on my name in this comment to go there.

21 04 2010
Karl Barndt

Almost forgot. Here are a few more Lamy 2000 nibs sizes I have seen or owned:

FK = Fine Kugel (ball)
OF = Oblique Fine
MK = Medium Kugel (ball)

21 04 2010
all of us

Good to see you posting again Ryan. I thoroughly enjoyed the read. Keep up the great work..

Phil Munson

6 05 2010
OfficeSupplyGeek

Great write up you have of the Lamy 2000. I’ve been contemplating this pen for a while, and reading this is making me want one more now. My problem is that I really love the stainless steel limited edition version but they are so hard to find for a reasonable price, I dont assume you have any tips on where to find one do you?

6 05 2010
rroossinck

Wish I could help you, OSG! The best price I’ve heard of recently is one that was at a vendor’s table at the Chicago Pen Show last weekend for $250, which is an outright bargain even if the pen was used. Sadly, these seem to come up with less and less frequency these days, so I’d say that your best bet would be to watch eBay carefully (you might have more luck with Germany’s eBay). Good luck in your quest, though, and even if you have to “settle” for a standard-edition Lamy 2000…you could do a lot worse! :-)

29 05 2010
Bill Bradford

I just pulled the trigger on a L2K-F from PearTreePens a few minutes ago. Look forward it to arriving, and oh Ryan, I’ve got another package headed your way in a few days.

This one won’t be wrapped in PVC pipe though 8-)

18 10 2010
Lamy 2000 EF Fountain Pen Review :: OfficeSupplyGeek

[…] edition version that is all stainless steel.  In my pursuit of that pen, I happened to read a great write-up on Brassing Adds Character on some of the additional details regarding the standard version of the Lamy 2000.  After leaving […]

20 12 2010
Weekly Wrap | PencilWrap.com

[…] Lamy 2000 Did You Know? – Brassing Adds Character […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

