Review: Bexley Simplicity. (F)

12 10 2007

First Impressions

This was a birthday present to myself, and it arrived at a perfect time. Dennis Bowden, owner of Parkville Pen, commissioned these from Bexley and they arrived about a week or so after my birthday – maybe less. A total of 30 were made (if memory serves), half being in black with rhodium, and the others in gold trim. While not numbered, I believe that this one is #2 of the run of 15 with rhodium trim.

Initially, the only thing that kept me away from the Simplicity was the fact that they weren’t offered in many colors that I would consider to be understated. Cool colors? Absolutely. Would it look right in the breastpocket of a white oxford? That was a little more in question. Thanks to Dennis, these hit the mark perfectly, and given that the trim was available in rhodium or gold with the black finish…it was right up my alley. It was elegant without being overdone. Just what I was looking for.

Appearance


It came in the typical Bexley packaging – a nice box, a satin-esque lining, etc. Looked good…couldn’t wait to tear it open and take a further look.

Design

The design is reminiscent of the old Sheaffer flat-tops of the late 20s, and from what I understand, it was the primary source of inspiration. It’s very simple and extremely light-weight. I swear, this is the lightest pen of any of the 20-odd pens I have in my stable. It’s perfectly balanced in my hand, and I find it quite comfortable for a long stretch of writing. The plastic isn’t overly slippery, and the rhodium-plated trim came out perfectly.

One nice thing about this pen (that initially, I thought was a defect), was the way that the cap screwed on. I swear to you, I’d never had a pen with a cap that went on harder. I thought for sure that I’d messed it up and somehow had cross-threaded it and mucked it up. Dennis set me straight and told me that it was actually a feature – that Howard had had too many pens that had somehow come unscrewed while in a pocket or a placket of a shirt, and had ended up ruining a perfectly good shirt. Being that I’d had a similar experience or two with some of my pens, I wasn’t complaining about this anymore at all. Terrific feature! As of this writing, I’ve owned this pen for about six months, and haven’t had a single problem with it unscrewing when it wasn’t supposed to.

The bottom line is that this pen was designed to be simple and unadorned. It wasn’t really meant to have any extra bits that weren’t supposed to be there.

Nib

The nib on this pen, while nothing outrageous, is terrific. It came out of the box writing perfectly, as I expected that it would. The Schmidt nibs are terrific performers, and very reliable. Mine is quite firm, which is how I like them, and I find that the line that it lays down is not wet, and not excessively dry. It starts up without a hitch regardless of the ink that’s in it, even after having sat for a week or two without being used. When writing, I don’t notice excessive smoothness (i.e., the Lamy 2000 nibs, which almost slide around too much on the page for me), nor do I feel that they’re excessively toothy.

In my opinion? Just right.

Filling System

Nothing special to note here. It’s a standard c/c pen. Fills as it should.

Cost and Value


I paid the going rate for these pens, and I don’t feel that I overpaid by one single cent. In fact, I probably would have paid more for it, had Dennis asked it.

Conclusion

For the money, it’s hard to beat this one for style and quality. It looks like a million bucks, and writes like it too. Add in the fact that if you ever have a problem with it, Howard Levy and his team will take good care of you?

It’s darn near perfect.

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 08 2008
All about the Benjamins…($100-ish) « Brassing Adds Character

[…] since I already reviewed this pen here, I’ll keep the comments brief on this one.  Suffice it to say…this is a fantastic […]

10 09 2010
Richard Plumbers

I may have to buy one of these for my husband. Well done on such an informative review and the pictures do really make the pen look prefect. Are they able to ship to the UK?

Leave a Reply

