Hack.04: DIY Pen Storage

22 12 2007

Spurred on by Don Fluckinger’s great article about pen storage (and the fact that I was running out of room for my collection), I started rummaging about the house trying to find something that I could hack into something more useful than it was in its current state…

I found this…and started hacking it apart before I had the chance to take pictures. Oh well…here’s a few pics of the box, at any rate.

What was it?

Well, it started life as one of those trendy “valets” that places like Bed Bath & Beyond are selling for guys. Intended for the dresser, they typically hold a smattering of stuff…some hold lots of watches, some hold “stuff”, some hold chargers for iPods and anything else that plugs in. This particular one came from Costco, and was sold around Christmas last year. I used it at the time to store watches, since I had a bunch of them.

I looked at it, though, and thought, “Man, this thing is too big for my nightstand. It needs to go somewhere else.” When I couldn’t find anywhere “else” for it to go…I decided to see what the guts looked like. After a few minutes with an X-Acto knife, I’d pretty much gutted the top side, and basically had a two-drawer box. The watch partitions are all basically held together with a little bit of weak adhesive and some sort of string that seems to bind them together (I’m not kidding…string).

Out came the scissors and Gary Lehrer’s great storage trays, and in about five minutes, here’s what I ended up with. Cool, huh? It now sits in my office, and stores most of the pens in my collection, as well as some of the ones that I’m working on restoring.

Here’s how it turned out.

Here’s a few pictures of the drawer, and a semi-close up of how Gary’s pen trays turned out.

So, keep your eyes open for these valet-type deals next time you’re out and about. Marshall’s, TJ Maxx, Costco, Bed Bath & Beyond, and other places all carry them from time to time. I think that for the most part they’re all made by the same company, and branded a little differently depending on who’s selling them. Wherever you find them, or something that’s fairly similar, they can be pretty easily made into a handy and stylish pen storage box!

For those of you who might decide to try and source one of these, here’s the contact information on the side of the box. Happy hunting!

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 01 2008
fluckzilla

Yay–keep up the good work.

–Don Fluckinger

31 01 2008
Speedmaster

Nice work, looks good! πŸ˜‰

6 02 2008
rroossinck

Thanks guys. I appreciate it! I wish that these boxes were still available. Chris, you should have one anyway, with a handle like Speedmaster! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

