7 Things…

7 05 2008

Rush Nigut of Rush On Business tagged me some time ago for the “Get to Know Your Author” meme. It has taken me a while to get to it but here we go.

The rules of “tag” are simple:

  • Link to the person that tagged you and post the rules on your blog.
  • Share 7 random and or weird things about yourself.
  • Tag 7 random people at the end of your post and include links to their blogs.

Seven random and/or weird things about me:

  1. My family’s claim to fame is apples, not fountain pens. We own about 100 acres of apples, peaches, pears, and cherries in West Michigan – the majority of that land is planted with apple trees. In fact, it was my grandfather who, when he was in his teens, sold a few bushels of apples to a man with the last name of Gerber. Those apples were the testing-ground that later became Gerber Baby Food’s applesauce!
  2. I work for a small software company called MasterMine. We’ve created a reporting application that is used in conjunction with FrontRange Solutions’ class-leading CRM application, GoldMine and Microsoft Excel. Our goal is to completely revolutionize the way that you think about reporting and data management. If your business is using GoldMine to manage your customer relationships, you need to check this out!
  3. I sit on the board of directors for the 20/30 Road Rally, an event that we host every year to raise money for the Des Moines 20/30 Society. Let me tell you…this is an awesome event! For those of you in Iowa, the best descriptor I can give you is that it’s RAGBRAI in one day, on four wheels. In the past, we’ve drawn drivers from as far away as Florida, and this year we’ve already got commitments from Florida, Michigan, Illinois, Minnesota, Kansas, Missouri, and probably a few other states that I’m not aware of. It’s a great time, it’s completely legal (two years ago, we had a police chief enter his Corvette!), and it raises a lot of money for some great causes!
  4. I’m a huge motorsports buff; basically, if it makes lots of power, smoke, noise, or goes fast, I’m interested. Since I’m in Iowa, I can’t easily get to all the F1 races I’d like to, but we’ve got a pretty good-sized community of sanctioned drag racers, road racers, and hot rod buffs in central Iowa, so I can’t complain. Iowa also has quite a community of tractor pullers, which is one of the things I like to get involved with in the summer. If you’ve never seen a tractor do a 300-foot wheelie…you’ve never lived. (I’m serious.) Someday, I’ll get involved as a driver in one form of racing or another, but for now, it’s still in the works. I drive a terrific little sporty sedan (an ‘04.5 Jetta GLI), and in the future, I’m planning to build it up a little for road-racing or autocross. The goal is 300 horsepower to the wheels without having to do a turbo transplant, a solid 5.5-sec. 0-60 time, and improved handling.
  5. I was a charter member of On The Fly Productions, an on-campus programming and activities council at Central Michigan University, where I went to school. On The Fly’s mission is to bring on-campus activities and entertainment to CMU to give students a fun (and safe) alternative to the typical college Friday & Saturday night activities (booze, drugs, etc.). It’s now entering its tenth year in existence, and I’m proud to say that I was part of it.
  6. I play the hammered dulcimer; mostly Irish/Celtic folk tunes, mixed in with a little bit of traditional American music. If I had some decent recordings of myself, I’d post ’em. Sadly, I do not. Maybe this summer?
  7. My wife and I are planning for an international adoption, as we aren’t able to have children due to health-related complications for both of us. We’d appreciate your prayers, thoughts, encouragement, and support. It seems that it’s getting harder and harder for couples to adopt internationally, as the restrictions get heavier and heavier.

So, there you have it. Seven things that I’ll bet you didn’t know about me!

Now, I want to hear from you. If your name is on this list, consider yourself tagged!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

